Today is a new day. Cliché I know but it’s how I feel. I’m taking control of my life, my emotions, and my journey. I have lived my life making decisions based on what I thought others wanted. Sometimes based on what I wanted and sometimes against my better judgment. Those decisions have made me the woman I am today and I’m grateful for them. Not to say that I don’t sometimes wonder what my life would have been if I’d chosen differently…but I can’t go back. So no regrets and no pity parties, just open eyes, dreams to chase, and a positive attitude.

I just recently finished reading a fabulous book by Elle Luna called The Crossroads of Should and Must . This book inspired  to revisit my blog, which had been sadly abandoned for more than 2 years. I had reached a point where I didn’t believe that I had anything to say. Nothing to share. The creative well was dry and I had no idea how to refill it. I wish I  say that everything was better now, but that’s not accurate. Life happens and sometimes it’s tragic. When those tragedies strike we can either hide and wish that it would all go away. Or we can acknowledge how we feel, embrace the suckiness of whatever has occurred and keep moving. I’ve done both and although sometimes it feels like I’m marching in place rather than dancing forward, at least I’m moving. Right?

Anyway, back to the book. It’s wonderful! Not only is it a quick read, if you want it to be, but it’s also thought-provoking. By the time I’d finished reading it I had pages of notes and comments written in the margins as well. I highly recommend that if you haven’t had a chance to read book that pick up a copy. The basic idea is that we often do what think we “should” instead of what our heart and soul say we “must”. There are many reasons that we do this and I’m guilty of most of them, but the great thing is, we return to this crossroads many times.

Those crossroads brought me back to my blog. I made a different choice when I stood before the sign this time and turned in a new direction. I’m inviting all of you on this journey with me. I don’t know where it will take me. Or what I find there tomorrow but it will be an adventure. I’m hopeful that I will find to make “who I am and what I do” one and the same.

If you want more information  Elle Luna’s book check out her video.

Until next time, my fearless travel companions, enjoy the magic and wonder that appears in your day.