I’m so excited! I feel like I should be singing, except that has never been one of my talents. Only 31 days left until NaNoWriMo and I’m starting a new writing practice today. It’s the beginning of a new chapter of my life. A chapter where I intend to take better care of myself and work every single day towards achieving my dreams.

NaNoWriMo   National Novel Writing Month

For those of you who aren’t familiar with NaNoWriMo it’s a month-long creative writing challenge that occurs in November. National Novel Writing Month is the full title of the challenge but NaNoWriMo just trips off the tongue so easily! I have been participating in NaNoWriMo for the last couple of years and although I haven’t managed to complete an entire novel – it’s always an interesting experiment. The official NaNoWriMo site has tips to survive the month, and tips for your families and loved ones to survive the chaos as well. Anyone interested in writing, and most importantly completing, a creative writing project should check it out. Like I said, I’m not as hard-core as some folks that join the challenge but that’s the wonderful thing about it. Everyone works on their own passions, the stories that spark their creativity, and the only one you really compete with is yourself.

So, we have 31 days until NaNoWriMo and 30 days until Halloween. Plus the weather in Colorado is getting cooler, autumn has arrived and it’s beautiful. I have made a pledge, to myself, to write at least one page every day in October. That way I’m prepared for NaNoWriMo, in theory! Today’s page was focused on outlining the path I think my current work will take and to determine who some of the characters will be. It feels great to be writing consistently again. And I know that as I build the habit back to where I want it to be the words will just flow even easier. Just in case I get stuck though – I’ve been saving writing prompts that intrigue me from all sources. I’m going to compile them so they are more easily accessed and used but I know that I am ready for any Writer’s Block that comes my way.

This is the turning of a page for me. My goal this month is to let go of habits that don’t help me move towards my dreams and embrace those that will allow me to reach it. But I don’t want to overwhelm myself and I don’t want to quit because I’m frustrated with a lack of progress. So for October I’m going to focus on writing one page per day and being aware of how I spend my money. I recently stopped working my second job and although my stress level and health has improved, my finances have not.

I am following Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace program and it’s scary but I have faith that it will be for the best. It’s hard not to be disappointed in myself for letting things get so out of hand but I know that I can make the changes and climb out of my hole. Making any life changes is challenging and I know that there will be ups and downs. I’ll chronicle these bumps in the road and all the fun I’m having for you, dear reader. Hopefully you will be able to avoid making the same mistakes I’m sure to make. And I hope you enjoy the blessings that inspire me as well.

Until next time, my fearless travel companions, enjoy the magic and wonder that appears in your day.

