Do you ever look in the mirror and wonder who the person staring back at you is?

I know that one of the most important things is how I see myself. I want to see the lion when I look in the mirror but some days that is easier than others.

I am aware that I am not alone in these struggles. And I have so many things to be grateful for I wonder if I should even post this…

Why do we insist on seeing the worst in ourselves? I always look for the best in others. Positive intentions – that’s one of my first thoughts when I’m frustrated or irritated with someone else’s behavior. So why don’t I give myself the same latitude?

It’s a mystery and something that I’ve filled pages and pages in my journals about. I have not yet come to an answer, not really, but I always feel better after having written.

When you get right down to it that is my self-reminder for the day. Writing always makes me feel better. Whether I’m writing in my journal, working on my fiction, or just brainstorming, the act itself helps me to process the world and my reality. And that makes my life run smoother.

But there is still the nagging critic that comes back to haunt me when I least expect it. Dealing with him is hard – I swear he’s a member of the Zombie Apocalypse because he just doesn’t die! But I’m getting better with shutting him up and as I focus on the quiet within myself I find I can hear the murmurs of my Creative Genie more clearly and she’s the one I want to hear. Getting to the quiet and not always peaceful but ever creative land within my imagination is getting easier. And for that I’m grateful.

Tonight my mind is racing and my emotions are all over the place. It’s been an eventful day and I can hear my journal calling me. That’s the lovely thing about writing – it can be shared or kept private depending on the message. And I have definitely written something’s that should never be shared with the world! I’m not sure what tonight’s writing will bring but I’m sure that it will be powerful.

This post did not come out like I’d planned but that’s okay. Someone once said “Life is what happens when you’re making other plans.” I don’t ever remember who said it but feel like it applies. I’ll get back to my plan tomorrow, who knows, I might actually get that post done too!

Until next time, my fearless travel companions, enjoy the magic and wonder that appears in your day.

