20130701-211507.jpg

I admit it – I love writing prompts. The “What If” game and the paths that the stories take as they flow from my imagination and down to the page. Today is Day 2 of NaNoWriMo and I’m happy with my success so far. I may never actually get an entire book written in a month but something about NaNoWriMo always gets my motivation speeding down the highway of my dreams.

I have found that for me to write on my primary story I need to get the juices flowing first. Freewriting is helpful but tends to become journaling which isn’t always a good mental place to begin writing my fiction. So I collect writing prompts from anywhere and everywhere. I wish I could say that I came up with the prompts myself but in truth I just am shamelessly using someone else’s brilliant ideas in the hopes that my own brilliant ideas will come out of hiding.

Today’s writing prompt is:  An archeologist stumbles upon a ancient library filled with working spell books.

In my vision I see Indiana Jones fighting booby traps, snakes, and natives to find the library. Then wondering what the hell he is going to do with a library of magic books!

I’m not sure that this piece will ever be more than just a plot bunny in my writing journal but it was certainly fun to write. And I hope the idea takes you on a new adventure as well!

Until next time, my fearless travel companions, enjoy the magic and wonder that appears in your day.

