It’s hard to believe but the year is nearly over. By the time midnight rolls around I imagine that thousands of drinks will be consumed; multiple resolutions made and simultaneously dismissed; families and friends will congregate to enjoy the final moments of the year together; and for some of us we will find ourselves alone – as always.

I will be the first to admit that I need the time alone. I am one of those individuals who loves to be with others in small doses, but I need to be able to recharge my batteries and for me that means being alone. The space and silence of being alone give me time to reflect and write. It gives me the opportunity to truly appreciate the time I spend with my family and friends and to realize how lucky I am that they can give me the space I require without a fuss.

As I think about the upcoming year and what I want to achieve I know that my goals for myself are aggressive. I have big plans I intend to pursue my dreams to the fullest extent of my spirit. Part of those plans, the toughest part most likely, will be the balance. I get caught up in the excitement of a new project, a new challenge, a new hobby or dream, and I sometimes burn out. I let other things slide and then I lose my way. So although I’m not making any resolutions for 2016 I am looking at my goals and working on the baby steps that will get me there. I hope that by this time next year I can faithfully report that I have made progress towards those goals and that I maintained a sense of sanity while I went about chasing them.

The funny thing about goals and plans and the idea of control is that we really don’t have any. Life has a way of kicking our feet out from under us when we think that we have it all figured out but I’ve noticed in 2015 that those were the times when I grew the most. Not to say it was always pleasant but it was the necessary step I needed to move towards my goal. Or to realize I had strayed off the path and needed to get turned around and headed in the right direction once more.

I am grateful for all the blessings that came my way in 2015. I didn’t always appreciate them the way that I should have but I can see how lucky I have been this year. And I am going to take the lessons I learned this year and keep applying them as we move forward.

I found the below online, I don’t remember where but I wish I could find it again so I could credit the author. I’ve looked at this list periodically and no matter what is going on in my life something on this list always applies. I hope that you find as much wisdom, strength, and motivation from it as I do.

IMG_5476

Until next year my friends and fellow travelers. I wish you all a Happy New Year and I hope that in 2016 you not only join me on my journey but that you achieve all your goals as well.

