How do we find inspiration? Or more accurately, how do we recognize the subtle inspiration that can be found around us? Especially when we are so busy running around trying to keep up with a million different things.

Maybe it’s just me, but I routinely forget to stop and smell the roses because I’m “too busy” with a mile long To Do list. Or an activity I agreed to do. Or a crazy schedule that I never remember quite how I managed to overbook. No matter what I know that I am the only one who can change things for me and small changes are the ways I’m going to get there.

Which brings me back to how do I recognize inspiration? According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary it can be defined as:

Definition of inspiration
a :  the action or power of moving the intellect or emotions
b :  the act of influencing or suggesting opinions

So what influences me? Some days a better question is what doesn’t influence me? I believe that we are all influenced by the world around us unconsciously¬† all the time. That is why it’s so important that we choose to focus on the positive influences.

Jose Ortega y Gassett said “Tell me to what you pay attention and I will tell you who you are.” I intend to focus on finding the inspiration around me. I know that it will be in small things and large things. Every day things and extraordinary things.

Lindsey Stirling

Today, I found inspiration in the music of Lindsay Stirling. Her music always takes me away to far off places and carries my heart on magical adventures. Her version of the song “Hallelujah” is beyond amazing and it was a definite inspiration today.

#365DaysofInspiration