Today, I celebrate my Mom’s life. She was one of the strongest women I’ve ever known. She taught me what it means to be strong and vulnerable. She taught me how to be true to myself without being bitchy. She taught me about the kind of woman that I want to be. The kind of woman I strive to be every day.

We lost Mom a few years ago, and I miss her every day. Today is one of the harder days because it’s her birthday. I know that she is watching over me, the rest of the family, and all of her friends, but there are some things that I continue to miss. A hug. Hearing her laugh. Listening to her advice and having her listen to my stories. I still pick up the phone to try and call her. Just like I expect to see her sitting on the patio when I go home.

I don’t expect these things to change. I’m learning to live with the hole that her passing has left in my life. And I’m learning to find inspiration in the memories and the reminders I come across about Mom as I go about my days. She is now and will always be with me, and for that I’m grateful.

Happy Birthday Mom. Love you always.

P1050570
Happy Birthday Mom!

 

#365DaysofInspiration